FER DE LANCE To Release “The Hyperborean” This April

On April 22, FER DE LANCE will release their debut full-length album “The Hyperborean” via Cruz Del Sur Music. The follow-up to their 2020 “Colossus” EP was again produced and engineered by Matt Russell at Altered States Studio in Chicago.

Occupying the hard-to-find place between “Hammerheart”-era BATHORY, and Rainbow’s “Rising”, FER DE LANCE have expanded upon “Colossus” with seven new compositions that are rife with intricate and melodic guitar riffs, powerful and soaring vocals, and crisp acoustic guitar arrangements. The band has also expanded their lineup, bringing on the talents of former SEPT OF MEMNON drummer, Scud, and Mandy Martillo of MIDNIGHT DICE and SATAN’s HALLOW on acoustic guitars and vocals. MP again played electric and acoustic guitars in addition to lead vocals and tin whistle. Now with a full-time drummer in the band, Rusty focuses solely on bass. All joined in on background vocals and choirs.

“The goal is always artistic progression,” comments the band. “We wanted to keep the atmosphere established on Colossus, but we were determined to expand on that statement with our debut album. The album is venomous, yet also melancholic. In addition to incorporating more diverse soundscapes and dynamics, the songs are heavier, more complex and have a deeper underlying meaning.”

“The Hyperborean” title means “one beyond the north wind.” According to the band, it combines classical myth with more modern ideas regarding the “idealized” North. The cover artwork represents the album’s journey from the Mediterranean Sea to the Arctic North and was painted by Adam Burke with the layout elegantly designed by Annick Giroux.

“The album tells the story of a mariner,” says the band. “Leaving behind the depravity and injustice of the “civilized” world, the mariner travels north in search of a land devoid of pain and suffering. At the forefront of the artwork, the temple represents both the starting place and the civilization that the mariner aims to leave behind. The aurora borealis and the mountain of ice represent the desolate destination and the stars above, the guide.” The band continues, “The mariner and his crew follow the stars in the hope of salvation. However, what they find is not what they expect and those left unburied never cross Acheron.”

In addition to already working on material for further releases, FER DE LANCE is currently slated to perform at the prestigious Keep It True festival in Germany this April. Additional live performances in the USA are also in the works.

“The Hyperborean” track listing:
1. Aurora Borealis
2. The Mariner
3. Ad Bestias
4. Sirens
5. Northern Skies
6. Arctic Winds
7. The Hyperborean

German Epic Folk Metallers GRENDEL’S SŸSTER Join Cruz Del Sur Music

GRENDEL’S SŸSTER – “Myrtle Wreath / Myrtenkranz” LP
PRE-ORDER: https://tinyurl.com/yd4ps37x

Cruz Del Sur Music is proud to welcome Stuttgart, Germany epic folk metallers GRENDEL’S SŸSTER. The label will re-release the band’s 2019 “Myrtle Wreath / Myrtenkranz” LP in September.

GRENDEL’S SŸSTER came together in 2015 when drummer Till, guitarist Tobi and vocalist Kathi held impromptu jam sessions in a little house nestled in the Vosges Mountains region of France. The gatherings revealed immediate chemistry between the musicians, making the decision to write and compose original material a foregone conclusion. Kathi would depart after the release of the 2017 “Night Sea Journey/Sayings Of The High One” single. Taking her place was Caro, whose first appearance was on the “Orphic Gold Leaves/Orphische Goldblättchen” EP in 2018. Next up was the “Myrtle Wreath / Myrtenkranz” EP, which eventually caught the attention of Cruz Del Sur Music.

“Of course, I knew the label due to a host of absolutely stellar bands like SMOULDER, SLOUGH FEG, ATLANTEAN KODEX, LUNAR SHADOW and IRON GRIFFIN,” says Tobi. “So, it was quite a pleasant surprise when Enrico [Leccese] contacted us. It’s almost a little surreal, I have to admit.”

Drawing from a wide array of influences including IRON MAIDEN, MANOWAR, WARLORD and LORDIAN GUARD, all the way to folk artists such as SVANEVIT, TRIAKEL, PLANXTY, THE WATERSONS, ZUPFGEIGENHANSEL, KEBNEKAJSE and STEELEYE SPAN, GRENDEL’S SŸSTER is unlike anything in today’s metal scene, with each song possessing depth and intrigue while challenging the listener. This is partly owed to what Tobi calls a “third streak of influence” that stretches all the way to renaissance and pre-classical music, including Norwegian baroque guitarist Rolf Lislevand. “I don’t think that we came up with it in an orchestrated manner, it just happened when we threw together our varied influences,” says Tobi. “When it comes to writing songs, it’s simply the kind of thing I would enjoy listening to. I guess I am also kind of influenced by pub sessions, dance events like Bal Folk, or nights at the campfire. The music serves a certain communal purpose and people sing along or dance. I think it is definitely about catchy melodies, but also about an otherworldly atmosphere. Then again, it still simply feels like heavy metal to me, but I have to come to terms with the fact that this might be a minority opinion.”

Activity for GRENDEL’S SŸSTER in 2020 — including new recordings and regular practice sessions — was brought to a halt due to the global pandemic. In keeping with the band’s positive attitude, the members of GRENDEL’S SŸSTER have been able to find a silver lining in the pandemic and look forward to brighter days ahead.

“I read some inspiring books, so I don’t think the time was completely wasted,” notes Tobi. “It really could have been worse for us, all things considered.”

OLD MOTHER HELL Posts Full Set From 2018 HAMMER OF DOOM Festival

Like the rest of the metal contemporaries, Germany’s OLD MOTHER HELL is patiently waiting to resume live activity and work on their next studio album. The band is currently taking part in Germany’s country-wide lockdown to control the spread of the Coronavirus, but that hasn’t stopped them from unearthing their brilliant live set from the 2018 Hammer of Doom festival. The show was a critical turning point for the band — it was the second show for drummer Michael Frölich, who went from being a temporary replacement to a full-time member — and captures OLD MOTHER HELL in their pure metal power trio glory.

“The Hammer of Doom show still is something very special for us,” says guitarist/vocalist Bernd Wener. “We were invited just two weeks before because some other band had to cancel and were at least as excited as with the Hell Over Hammaburg invitation some month prior.

“It was just our second show with Michael as a replacement drummer and we never played in front of such a big audience before, so we were pretty nervous. So nervous indeed, that the first song of the set, ‘Another War’, is missing because I forgot to switch on our camera. From song to song there were more people gathering in front of the stage and more and more fists were raised into the air. What a view, what a feeling. We were overwhelmed by the energy and the positive reactions.

“After the show, Michi decided to join the band. Finally having a full line-up again, we instantly decided to work on a new album and made a rough schedule. Of course, we may have to postpone this due to the current situation, but we keep evaluating the situation daily.

“We cannot meet up to rehearse or stream live, so we decided to at least upload this very special show as a whole. Enjoy, and stay healthy!”

Cruz Del Sur Music re-released OLD MOTHER HELL’s self-titled debut album in 2018. The band has been assembling new material for a release sometime in the near feature.